Netflix has published details of new rules to prevent the estimated 100,000 users that are sharing another subscriber’s account from accessing its content.
Having previously turned a blind eye to password sharing, Netflix now makes it clear “accounts are only meant to be used within one household”.
In an update to its Netflix Help Center in markets where it had been testing additional fees for account sharing, the streamer gives new guidance on the circumstances in which a password may be shared, and creates the concept of a primary location.
It says Netflix accounts are “still shareable”, but only within one household. To maintain the primary location, subscribers are asked to open the Netflix app or website, and watch something at least once every 31 days.
If someone tries to log into an account from another location they will be prompted to sign up for their own account and have their access blocked until they do so.
While at first glance the primary home appears to restrict subscribers from viewing outside of the home, for example, when on holiday or a business trip, they can request a temporary code from the service when signing in. This will give them access to their account for seven consecutive days.
Marketing testing on additional fees for out-of-home sharing has been running in Chile, Costa Rica and Peru.
Netflix has previously announced a feature that enables user profiles to be moved from one account to another.